Boy Oh Boy – Journals

Oh Boy notebook from Chronicle Books

Oh Boy notebook from Chronicle Books

When it comes to office accessories, I try to avoid the child play of goofy trinkets and toys that often plague so many of our co-workers’ desks. However, I do try to add a bit of fun with some rare finds of journals used for notetaking. Why not show up to the board meeting with an usual spiral notebook that beats the stuffy leather portfolios with that ugly yellow pad of paper. I always found it interesting that my marketing colleagues in Texas, just like myself, carried around with old-school spiral binders for jotting down thoughts, ideas and memos. It must be an innate love for writing everything down on paper and having an organic resource of information collected through the art of collaborating.

I’m always writing in my books, mostly to have proof that something indeed was stated in a meeting. Boy oh boy, I can’t tell you how many times I found myself in an argument with my boss due to conflicting stories. Luckily, I had the information scribbled in my notes and I was able to walk back to my office with small bode of confidence.

One of several notebooks I keep at my desk is this one from Chronicle Books’ Oh Boy collection called the Cambridge Journal. This striking medium-size spiral with it simple stripping of cream, red and burgandy, measures 7″x9.5.” The design is from Chronicle’s art director Henry Quiroga who is based in San Francisco. Another design of his is the Housecoat Journal (below). Either makes for a great book for writing all of those important points.

Housecoat journal by Chronicle Books

Housecoat journal by Chronicle Books

As much as I enjoy the fun notebooks for the mundane office meetings, I encourage you to have a more tailored, professional looking journal for client meetings. I’ll be making various recommendations of these alternatives in upcoming posts. In the meantime, the books from Chronicle are very affordable and can be found at some major retailers like The Container Store. The online price is $9.95 and can be ordered directly from Chronicle at www.chroniclebooks.com . Be sure to do a search for “oh boy” at the top of their home page to make it a bit easier.

1 Comment

Filed under Office, Stationery

One response to “Boy Oh Boy – Journals

  1. Kitty

    What about scrapbook suggestions?

Leave a Reply

