Real Simple Tip – In The Closet

Closet Before

Closet: Before (photo:Nikolas Koenig)

I can hear my friend laughing right now about my days “in the closet,” being so evasive, yet innately obvious. After reading about this tip from Real Simple, I actually don’t think I’d mind going back into hiding as long as I had the closed quarters decked out like this (image below). The magazine’s design director Ellene Wundrok converted her entryway closet as a hidden home office. If you don’t require much work surface and really need dedicated space for web surfing and e-mails, then you might want to tackle this weekend project by creating a similar work station. I love the idea of going vertical with the space – printer, boxes, paper, all can be stored above the desk on shelves.

A great trick offered by Real Simple as shown below – Use coat hooks to cradle wrapping paper rolls. Note: I actually keep wrapping paper at my desk for special last minute gifts for a colleagues birthday or a corporate client memento. You may want to do the same.

Converted closet for a home office

After: Converted closet for a home office (photo:Nikolas Koenig)

Grant it, this version is quite femme, but I do think you can create something neutral and just as interesting with the use of a bold graphic imprint. Even out of the closet, I still have issues with pink. Perhaps gray, blue, or even turquoise might work. I think this is a great solution for those living in challenged spaces. You see, anyone can have an office of their own.

Get more ideas about converting your closet at www.realsimple.com.

Leave a comment

Filed under Decorating, Design, Office, Organization

Leave a Reply

